configuration management Questions

I need to give file permissions to a specific users only.

My steps:
Setting up new CC group.
Add new group to the CC profile of people who should access to files.
Add new group to VOB.
Change file protection to new group.
Defined permission 770 to files.

But users still do not have access the files!!!!

By Tomas Lundstrom - February 23, 20111 Answer

I will be doing an SCM related talk at a Japanese company site this spring. I realize I don't know much about the Japanese SCM scene (or Japanese software development in general for that matter).

Are there e.g. any differences to the processes and tools typically used in the west?

Thus, I'd like to get in touch with Japanese SCM/software engineers and other folks who are/have been working with software development in Japan.

Domo Arigato,
/Tomas

Hi Synergy experts...

I need help into understanding Synergy backend session. Doing a ccm monitor or ccm ps command provides me with details of how many process am i running on my Synergy Server.

What i wanted to learn is how this number affects my Unix box performance. We have had issues that there is a dramatic degrade in server performance due to too many running synergy process running.

I have created a little script to check there Synergy connection against my Oracle database. What I do is to kill INACTIVE process traced from oracle and map to unix process ids.

Anyone who have more knowledge how the proper process termination criteria should be?

By bbuttolph - February 21, 20112 Answers

Quiz: At any point in time, Diff-against-Backed and Revert-to-Backed refer to the same version.

a) True. The term "Backed" is used by both operations to refer to the version you started with, meaning from the time of your last update or promote operation.

b) False. Diff-against-Backed refers to the latest version in the backing stream regardless of your last update or promote operation. The version you're diffing against could be a newer version in the backing stream.

The correct answer is 'b'. AccuRev uses the term "Basis version" to refer to the version in the backing stream since your last update or promote operation. Hence, there's the option "Diff-against-Basis" to use this version. However, there is no Revert-to-Basis. Assuming there is a newer version in the backing stream, if you Diff-against-Basis and want to have that version in your workspace, you must Revert-to-Backed. Huh?

I realize that Diff is an exception to the rule that all workspace commands are relative to the last update or promote operation and that a Revert-to-Backed using the Diff meaning would not result in what most users would want. However, when you're trying to explain the terminology to a new team member new to AccuRev, amidst the glazed looks and smirks you invariably wind up apologizing for the complexity and just hope that they eventually "get it".

Would simply changing the menu option Revert-to-Backed to Revert-to-Basis be the answer, or is there a valid reason for this inconsistency?

Thanks,
Brian

By Glyn_Mo - February 21, 20114 Answers

I'm wondering if anybody knows when exactly a cache value is generated for a Synergy object?

Is a cache value for an object generated by simply opening viewing an object from the GUI, in addition to when you create an object and perform a "Use" on the object?

I've noticed that if a cache value for an object is deleted on the file system, viewing the properties of the object in Synergy still shows the object as having the CVID of the cache value deleted from the file system. Opening the said object from Synergy then re-creates the object in the cache on the file system.

If an object has its cache value deleted from the filesystem (as opposed to using clean_cache), is it possible that the same cache value could be used again by another object?

Is there a command specifically to cache/re-cache a Synergy object?

The reason I ask is that for deployment of code, our DBAs actually copy the object from the cache as opposed to copying it from a project workarea. This means that we cannot regularly run the clean_cache command, which we are desperate to do in order to reduce the backup time.

I wish to be be able to run the clean_cache command regularly as all Synergy documentation and people I've spoken to recommend, but be able to re-cache object when required for deployment.

If anyboy has any knowledge anout Synergy cache use in general, it would be very much appreciated.

Thanks
Glyn

By KimBann - February 16, 20111 Answer

Looking for input from anyone using Promotion Packages for Endevor.

Was it hard to implement?
How was this change viewed by your users?

Reason for asking is that we now have a site that runs SD while the rest of the sites are on CM Synergy since long, and we want to start to learn of the possibilities of migrating from SD to CMS...

in our project there is one interesting requirement initiated by some project managers:

There is a synergy project named "documents" with the release docs/1.0.0. this project contains some papers, protocolls, records, concepts and other important documents. there are also some subprojects and subdirectories.

The requirement is: the subprojects need some new (mandatory!) attributes, e.g. "responsible team" or "responsible manager". Everytime a new (sub-)project for release docs/1.0.0 is created the creator needs to fill in the responsible team for that project. The value of the attribute can be any string and no plausibility checks are needed.

Is there any way to create new (mandatory) attributes for the object type "project"?

Maybe, create a new type "custom_project" or derive from the typedef "project" could help.

any ideas?

We are using Synergy 6.5 and 7.1 with the standard process rules and the parallel restriction: allow parallel checkout, disallow parallel checkin

Thanks in advance!!!
Knut

I think the task-based methodology is cool and very powerful but there are some issues and concepts that confuse me.

there is a simple comprehension question:

let there be a root object foo.c (Version: 1 , Release: test/1.0)

-Developer A creates a new Task for release test/1.0 and checks out the object foo.c. The new version is foo.c-2. The developer wants to backup the temporary changes and checks in the object (foo.c-2 integrate). The Task is stil "assigned"! Then the developer continues his work and has now the version foo.c-3 (working). Both versions are not "completed", the task is still "assigned" and therefore "invisible" for the update rules of the other collaborative projects for release test/1.0.

-Developer B does an update in his own project and then checks out the object foo.c -> foo.c-1.1.1 (working). Developer B is ready with his changes and tries to complete his own task and there comes the parallel notification: he is forced to merge. Developer B is not very happy and tries to kill his BuildManager (me) :ohmy:

Why is there such parallel notification? There is not really a parallel conflict beacuse Task A is still not completed. The only completed Task at this point must be Task B.

Why must Developer B merge his own completed changes with the temporary (not completed and maybe inconsistent!!!) changes of Developer A. The idea of the task-based methodology is basically that only completed changes (tasks) count.

Is there any way to change this behaviour??

We are using Synergy 6.5 SP2 with the standard process rules and the parallel restriction: allow parallel checkout, disallow parallel checkin

Thanks in advance!!!
Knut

I'm sure I'd seen this before but can't identify it now.

Pages

CMCrossroads is a TechWell community.

Through conferences, training, consulting, and online resources, TechWell helps you develop and deliver great software every day.